You have surely heard something about “Bologna”. In order to know exactly what this process involves, we will provide you with some useful information.

The three priorities of the Bologna process are:

  • introduction of the three cycle system (bachelor/master/doctorate)
  • quality assurance
  • recognition of qualifications and periods of study

Promotion of student mobility and diploma recognition in Europe are possible mainly due to the use of European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS). This means that every subject that you study has a number of credits. In our university there are 5 credits per subject. One credit is worth about 30 hours of work, either assisted (lectures, seminars) or individual (time for study in libraries, writing of papers, practical activities etc).

More general information on ECTS can be found here:

Beginning with the 2005-2006 academic year, academic education in Romania is structured on 3 study levels:

Bachelor Studies lasting 3 years (except for the specializations Law, Technological Physics Geological Engineering, Pastoral Orthodox Theology and Pastoral Catholic Theology)
Master Studies lasting 2 years
Doctoral Studies lasting 3 years

If you want to find out more about the Bologna Process at European level, you may click here: