What is the Bologna Process?

What is the Bologna Process?

The Bologna Process is an intergovernmental higher education reform process that includes 48 European countries aimed at enhancing the quality and recognition of European higher education systems and improving the conditions for exchange and collaboration within Europe, as well as internationally.

The three priorities of the Bologna process are:

  • introduction of the three cycle system (bachelor/master/doctorate)
  • quality assurance
  • recognition of qualifications and periods of study

Promotion of student mobility and diploma recognition in Europe are possible mainly due to the use of European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS).

ECTS credits are allocated to all educational components / disciplines of a study programme (including course units, modules, placements, dissertation work, etc.) based on the allocation of 60 credits per full-time academic year, according to the estimated workload required to achieve the defined learning outcomes for each component.

In our university, disciplines taught within an undergraduate study programme are awarded between 4 and 6 ECTS credits, while disciplines of a Master study programme are awarded between 5 and 10 ECTS credits. One ECTS credit is equal to 25 hours of student work (including contact hours, independent or guided study, practical/specialised training).

More general information on ECTS available at: http://ec.europa.eu/education/lifelong-learning-policy/doc48_en.htm.

Beginning with the 2005-2006 academic year, academic education in Romania is structured on 3 study levels:

Bachelor Studies lasting 3 years (except for the specializations Law, Technological Physics Geological Engineering, Pastoral Orthodox Theology and Pastoral Catholic Theology)
Master Studies lasting 2 years
Doctoral Studies lasting 3 years

More info on the Bologna Process at European level available at:http://ec.europa.eu/education/higher-education/doc1290_en.htm